South Africa Emerging Players 9 for 315




After a 3 week tour in Austrailia the Emerging Protea squad returned home on the 2nd of August winning 8 out of their 9 matches.

“This tour is part of the National High Performance strategy to expose more players to international competition.

Corrie van Zyl, Cricket South Africa’s High Performance coach, has shrugged off the disappointment of South Africa’s surprise defeat in the Emerging Players Tournament final in Brisbane to India, saying his team gained more from the experience. South Africa were the favourites to take the title, having won all their eight matches before choking in the final when faced with a target of 284.

“This tour was an opportunity to grow as a team and to get a taste of international cricket, of touring and all the associated experiences that go with it. In that sense the tour was a huge success and the commitment of every player throughout the tournament was excellent, whether they were in the actual playing XI or not.”

Fast bowler CJD de Villiers, with 10 wickets, and batsman Heino Kuhn (286 runs) were the main performers for South Africa. van Zyl also singled out offspinner Thandi Tshabalala, who took four wickets in two games.

“CJ was outstanding while Thandi towards the end of last season and again on this tour has shown signs of reaching his true potential,” he said. “But really it was a team effort and there was always a player to put his hand up when it was needed.”

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) named a provisional squad of 20 players for the ICC Champions Trophy tournament to be held in South Africa in September.

Emerging Protea captain Vaughn van Jaarsveld and team mate Lonwabo Tsotsobe were called up to join the squad.

South Africa Emerging Players squad: Vaughn van Jaarsveld (capt), Craig Alexander, Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, CJ de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Reza Hendricks, Heino Kuhn, Rilee Rossouw, Daryn Smit, Juan Theron, Thandi Tshabalala, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Stiaan van Zyl, Basheeru Walters.

Head Coach: Corrie van Zyl
Assistant Coach: Shafiek Abrahams
Physiotherapist: Vibhav Singh
Fitness Trainer: Rob Walter
Video Annalist: Hendrickus Coertzen

By Vibhav Singh – Team Physiotherapist

Copyright 2020. Kings Park Sports Medicine Centre